Solano County

Regional Early Action Planning (REAP) Housing Element Collaborative

Housing 101

Housing Element Overview

The Housing Element is one of the eight required elements of the General Plan and the only element required to be approved (“certified”) by the State. The Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD) has the legal authority to review and certify housing elements.

ABAG Housing Elements are due to be adopted January 31, 2023. Since 1969, State law requires that California local governments (cities and counties) update their Housing Elements every 8 years according to a legally mandated schedule.

The Housing Element includes the following:

Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Overview

How is the RHNA Determined?

Solano County RHNA